A community in Marin is looking for a care-taker and gardener in exchange for room and board

A community in Marin is looking for a care-taker and gardener in exchange for room and board
Job

We are looking for an experienced and enthusiastic gardener to maintain the 1/4 acre garden and almost 2 acres of grounds. We have berry bushes, citrus, guava, quince, stone fruit and olive trees –  all of which need maintenance, harvest and processing (such as pickling, fermenting, dehydrating and preserving). 

The gardening includes planting, weeding, watering (what’s not on irrigation), harvesting, maintaining the compost piles and tending to life on this property. 

We are interested in carbon farming so both research and implementation are needed as well as continued research of organic/bio-dynamic methods, building soil life with worms, compost tea, mulching, Bio-char and more.

We lost our bees due to last year’s smoke but we are looking for a new hive (any leads are appreciated), and we have a chicken coop with chicks and a bunny.

Who we are

We are a small community of 8 adults and 4 kids who choose to do life together. Our conversations revolve around evolving consciousness, new paradigms for relating and love as well as living in right relation to the earth and all its being. We meet weekly to check in with each other’s hearts (which we request you to join in on) and hold potluck dinners twice a week (which we strongly encourage you to participate in).

We have a saltwater swimming pool & a hot tub, as well as public land with many trails right up against the property. We eat a healthy omnivore diet and host music, dance and talk gatherings as well as community parties. 

We are located on the outskirts of San Rafael, so a car is a huge bonus, though there is a bus stop about a 15 min walk away.

We are looking for people who are self-motivated, accountable, good communicators and able to work alone (by directions). An attitude of gratitude is a must for us as well as having a positive approach to life and desire to engage. Handy-person skills are a huge bonus but the garden and grounds are the first priority.

Please don’t contact us if you are looking for a ‘free’ place to stay. We are looking for someone who cares about the plants, animals and humans in this eco-system and who naturally leans deeply into contribution. 

We ask for 5 hours a day 5 days a week in exchange for an Airstream accommodations and a weekly food budget. We are willing to consider other agreements if it works for us.

We require you do not smoke tobacco on the property.

We may consider couples if both people are a contribution.

Pls provide references.

If this sounds like a good fit for you please contact Kim at [email protected]

Send A Message


  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

New to the site? Create an Account


Login

Lost your password?

Don't have an account? Sign up